Warsaw !!
Phew, what a tiring journey is was !!
Left IGI @ 4:30 am on 16th September 2008. We had to spend 3 hours at the airport, we all were quite sllepy and tired. We were also worried about the amount of luggage that we had. But in the end, every thing was fine. We boarded the plane on time, but it was dismal. I think even the BEST buses are better than Aeroflot airways and the airhostess was scary, trust me if u see her at night, half of you would die of heart attack and the other half by disappointment. The food was good, but we were disappointed by no alcohol. It was a tiring journeyas we tried to sleep as comfortably as we could but we couldnt.
Landed at Sheremetyevo airport early morning and once we came out, we realised that it was cold, very pleasant. We could see the city when we landed at it was very beautiful with an antiquated look about it. We wanted to see the city, so we were hopeful we would get a transit visa, we would ask for it. But disappointment was in our destiny, coz the female at the airport denied it as soon as we asked for it. We had a 8-9 hour stopover so we thought abt seeing the airport and the duty free shops. Shikari was the last one to check out, so we were waiting for him. There was a wall which we had to pass through, with just an open gate to pass but woth no gates or closing. When Shikari came thru, he was searching for some button mechanism to open the door, but he couldnt find it as thr was none. But it was quite a funnyscene, we all had a blast.
We somehow managed to spend some time there with shikari being very courteous to some Japanese/chinese females. It was nice to see that. :P We bought two beers costing us 4 euros, but it was some local russian beer, so it was ok. The airport was gr8 with the duty free shops and some very hot chicks. I think the russian girls are quite hot.. :P
The trip from Moscow to Warszawa was great. The plane was better than aeroflot (it was Polish airlines) and they served wine. :) Looking forward to it on my way back also. :P Though the airhostess were not gr8, but definitely better than aeroflot. While landing, we could see some of Warsaw and it really looked beautiful. We could just not wait to explore the city, but before that I was hoping my buddy would come and pick me up at the airport. She did and I really am thankful to her. One of my post would be on her (Kasia Koba, let me meet her more).
But we were disappointed when we got out, they detained us at the immigration and opened our luggages by breaking the zip of my suitcase (now I have to get that repaired too), so we were quite pissed at this. We were able to leave around 7 30 or 8 pm.
Once I came out, there was this girl who was quite happy to see me, but I didnt know why. She came forward and introduced herself as Kasia, I couldnot make out her from her picture, she looks quite different from her picture on facebook. (She;s quite cute and... )
I thgt she had a car, but it turned out that she didnt, so we were gonna catch the bus. But a cab-driver spoke to her and we were bound for Sabinki (my hostel) in 70 zl. (1 zl = Rs. 20)
After the journey, we thgt we could have gotten a better deal, but now I think with broken luggage, it was a fair one. (even biyani's luggage was tampered with). She even paid for us, coz we didnt convert taht many Dollars to zlotty, we still havnt paid her, I feel so terrible about it. My first impression of the city is that it is so clean and organised (3 lanes means 3 lanes) no dirty streets, some nice cars and people driving with good traffic sense.
She took me directly to Sabinki ( around 8 pm) and there I met my German room-mate. He's a nice guy with a very different accent, it really is quite nice. the way he says hello is quite amazing, all of us like it. I settled in with unpacking n all, but I had to be quick coz we had to go to a party the same night.
More about it the next post.
Tuesday, September 23, 2008
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)